My Dead Week Playlist

Dead week is waving at us with his hideous and malevolent smile. It is commonly seem that college students have the propensity to procrastinate until the last possible week and then pull desperate all-nighters to study for the exams. And I am no exception. I need some kind of stimulant and music can be a great helper to me when I am cramming for the finals. My dead week playlist is a pretty eclectic mix that incorporates metal, classical, rock, jazz,etc.

Classical music take up a big portion of playlist. I am easily distracted when I am reading and writing, so songs with lyrics are not an option for me. I can’t remember how many times I ended up humming the lyrics and that song just played over and over in my mind, which speak of the impossibility of effective study for the day. Classical music perfectly compensates for this shortcoming. Beethoven’s Moonlight Sonata, Tempest Sonata, 5th, 7th, 9th Symphony, Bach’s French Suites, The Well-tempered Clavier, Vivaldi’s The Four Seasons and Chopin’s Etudes, Preludes, Nocturne, all of which serve the purpose of  making me concentrate. The beautiful melody fills the air with a sense of tranquility and calms my mind and soul. The reading assignment become less boring with piano pieces and the melodies help me get in the flow of writing.

Heavy metal music is something I listen to when I am dealing with geometric or algebra problems. I’ve never thought of listening to heavy metal while studying until one of my friends suggested me to do so and it actually worked. The incomprehensible snarling and screaming block everything else out, making my head clearer and thoughts more organized. Paranoid, Hell and Heaven, Sweet Leaf by Black Sabbath, Prowler, The Number of Beasts by Iron Maiden, Holy War, Peace Sells by Megadeth and Angel of Death, Raining Blood by Slayer are part of my heavy metal collections that on my loop playlist. The loudness and inexplicability are the two traits that make heavy metal a great assistant of my study. I can’t and don’t need to understand the lyrics so I can stay focus on the problems I’m working on. Heavy metal would give you a greater peace of mind and make you more concentrated as long as you get used to the volume.

Everything else besides classical and metal fall into the same category and have the same purpose—setting me free from misery. These songs are the ones I listen to during study breaks. And my playlist for relaxation has a great variety. From Jazz, rock, indie to pop, from Norah Jones, Dio, Joni Mitchel to Pink Floyd, I enjoy the songs that connect to me. Little Lou, Ugly Jack, Prophet John, A Case of You, Comfortably Numb, Rainbow In The Dark, and the list could go on and on. Some of them are soft, some are upbeat and some are exhilarating. Only when I listen to these songs do I actually savor the music. The lyrics, the vocal, the meaning behind the song, I am absorbed in music and fully enjoy the guilt-free leisure time. The songs soothe my mind and revitalize my body so I can be better prepared for the next round of hard work.

Dead week is not that terrifying with music. My dead week playlist would make my study for the finals much more efficient and less dull. The long week is soon coming. Good luck to myself.

Standard

Leave a Reply

