Dead Week? What kind of music would you like with that?

As Georgia Tech’s semester closes, a student always thinks about finals and the hours upon hours of studying that comes with it. And thus comes the phrase “Dead Week”; the week before the Finals where no assignments are assigned. Thus, when many people study, music seems to be a tool in which people use to help them study. I would personally like to share some of the songs on my “Dead Week” playlist. Compared to others, it seems that the types of songs I choose are a bit strange.

My first song is “Time”, by Hans Zimmer. This one of the many famous Inception songs. The reason why I like this song so much is because it has enough music to keep me focused, but not loud enough to make me distracted. This is the main reason why many of the songs I choose are in this playlist. In fact, this playlist is titled, “Focus” in my Spotify. I often get distracted when there are songs with lyrics or high, upbeat melodies. That’s why many people find it strange when they look at my playlist. Most other people have at least songs with lyrics that helps them study for finals. Though I make a few exceptions. One song that has lyrics which I don’t really count as singing, but it is words. It’s the song “Now We are Free” by Lisa Gerrard, which is the famous song in the movie Gladiator. It has some Latin singing chorus that doesn’t seem to bother my mind when I’m focusing and trying to either do homework or study for a test. All of the songs I have on the list are only on the playlist if they are tested and shown that they don’t distract me. My third song is “Chronos” by Mark Petrie. I chose this song because my whole playlist isn’t just these low dragging, sort of depressing songs that I listen to when I study. This song is one of the many songs in this playlist that are considered “epic.” Now when epic and orchestral music are said in the same sentence, most people are going to think of Two Steps from Hell’s famous song “Invincible.” This is also one of the many epic songs that help me focus when studying for big subjects like chemistry or biology. Now to get the full spectrum, I have a few “happier” songs that I like to listen to when I study. One such song is the song “Up is Down” by Hans Zimmer. This is a song from the movie Pirates of the Carribean. I like this song to add some variety in this playlist so I am not listening to the same things over and over again. I think I can count this song as in a “Happy” song where it is more on the upbeat side but not enough to distract me from my work.

Overall, my playlist for “Dead Week” consists of primarily orchestral songs performed in movies like Inception, Pirates of the Carribean, or Gladiator. I find all of these songs very nice to study with and it helps me stay on task. “Dead Week” can truly be a hard week of studying and preparing for finals, but with music to help you focus, time can fly by while you study.

Standard

Leave a Reply

