Reflections on Blogging, Gender and Music

This is my final blog…crazy right? I feel like I just started blogging but I guess I’ve been doing it for a few months now. At first I really hated blogging. I was just like What do I have to say that people actually care about? Nothing. The answer is still nothing, but that’s the beauty of blogging. You can say whatever you want and people may respond, which is great or they may not, which is also great. Either way, if you do it well, blogging is a great way to get your points across. Anyway, from blogging about gender and music over the past few months, I have actually learned a lot. Blogging has made me more aware of audience when writing, and taught me that there are gender implications in every genre and that gender, music, and race are very closely linked.

Through blogging, I have become much more aware of my audience when I am writing. In school we are drilled and trained to write for one audience member, the teacher, but in life there is hardly ever that simple. The audience could be an employer, or a client or even the general public and how you convey the same message to each audience is different. When I blog, my audience is everyone, and that is a hard audience to write for. You have to write in a way that everyone can understand. You can’t be too technical or too colloquial, you have to find a point between two, conversational. But being conversational when you write is difficult. It goes against everything you ever learned. To make it easier for myself, I literally say what I am thinking and write it down, because really nothing can be more conversational than that.

My blogs have been focused on gender and music, so not surprisingly, I have learned a lot about that. The most important thing that I have learned is that there are gender implications in every genre. Gender is somehow related to every genre. In rap and hip hop, there’s the whole controversy over female rappers, in pop we are seeing a wave of feminism, in country and heavy metal there are very few female; gender is everywhere in music and with gender comes certain expectations. We expect women to behave in certain and different ways, but the music codes for different genres don’t always align with gender expectations. This creates interesting music and some problems; it is why we have gender debates in music to begin with.

Finally, in researching for my blogs I have noticed trends. One of the biggest trends is that it is nearly impossible to have a conversation about gender and music without considering race. Just like gender and music are closely related, music and race are closely related. Many genres started as predominately one race, White, Black, Asian, Hispanic, whatever the race may be and now as the world is becoming more ethnically diverse, other races are entering the genres. This with the gender debates causes more problems. Race becomes a factor and you have consider whether one race is acting like another and whether or not this is derogatory. You have to consider that maybe one race is not emulating another, but they are just conforming to musical codes. But these codes sometimes have racial and gender. The three together create complex and multifaceted problems.

I have learned a lot since my first blog about blogging, about writing, about audience, and about the complexities of gender and music in general. Though blogging is very informal, I have actually developed many useful writing skills. Also, in learning about gender and music I have gotten better at analyzing data and finding trends. I will carry what I’ve learned on to future writing and who knows, maybe even to another blog.

Standard

Leave a Reply

